About the Foundation

The Huntsville Library Foundation was established in 1986 to support the Huntsville-Madison County Library.  With a voluntary Board of up to 15 members, the Foundation believes that a great Library helps make a great community.  As advocates for the Huntsville-Madison County Public Library System, the Huntsville Library Foundation raises awareness and funds to purchase books and other materials that the Library uses to inspire readers and improve our community's quality of life. 

The Huntsville Library Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization.

This year the Huntsville Library Foundaiton will make contributions to all 12 branches of the library system totalling over $110,000. Specifically the Huntsville Library Foundation has funded the DMZ (Digital Media Zone), has funded the purchase of downloadable audio books for children, and has given to the increase the materials budget of each branch.  The Foundation also sponosors the Annual event Vive le Livre - Long Live the Book and other author events for the Library.

Our Board

Chair - Christina Tabareaux      

Vice Chair - Betsy Estopinal    

Treasurer - Greg Whitehead

Secretary - Ruchi Singhal

Board members:  Rozonda Bailey, Jayne Clary, Will Heaps, Barbara Jones, Emily Pauli, Lindsay Rice, Bob Rieder, Davis Schmitz, Chris Smith, Lady Smith,  Amy Stucky

For 28 years, the Huntsville Library Foundation has set aside and evening to "celebrate the book" with our annual  event, Vive le Livre.  It is the goal of the Foundation to share with the community the literary world's best and brightest as we support the Huntsville-Madison County Public Library.

2014- Joshilyn Jackson

2013- Rick Bragg

2012 - Jon Meacham

2011 - Scott Turow

2010 - Bill Bryson

2009 - Ann Patchett

2008 - Karem Abdul-Jabar

2007 - Carl Hiaasen

2006 - Garrison Keillor

2005 - David Baldacci

2004 - Christopher Buckley

2003 - Bob Woodward

2002 - David McCullough

2001 - Doris Kearns Goodwin

2000 - Al Franken

1999 - Homer Hickam

1998 - John Berendt

1997 - Tom Wolfe

1996 - Pat Conroy

1995 - Scott Turow

1994 - Terry Anderson

1993 - Dave Berry

1992 - Molly Ivins

1991 - Robert Inman

1990 - Mark Russell

1989 - Art Buchwald

1988 - Mark Russell


Contact Emma Williams, Director of Development

(256) 532-5954, office
(256) 532-5997, fax

Get updates!

Get updates from our Facebook group or by following HsvLibFound on Twitter. New to Twitter? Text follow hsvlibfound to 40404.

Get updates!

Use RSS?  Grab our RSS feed to know when we've updated our site:

Syndicate content

(staff login)

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer